About us

A Message From Iowa CareGivers 2018 Board Chair

Double Vision – Laser Focus On The Future!
Rest Assured That Our “Double Vision” Will Not Blur Our Laser Focus On The Future 


  • No paid or family caregiver will ever feel unprepared to do what is expected of them or be unable to afford to work in a field of service to others.
  • No one will fear or be faced with a lack of or poor quality care, isolation, or premature loss of independence for themselves, a loved one or friend.

As the newly elected Chair of the Iowa CareGivers (IC) Board of Directors, I am pleased to share with you our “double vision”, and I pledge to do all I can to help lead this mission-driven and laser-focused organization to the next level of its development.  With 25 years of experience in serving the needs of direct care/service workers and in leading model public policy and practice initiatives to bring stability to the direct care workforce, it is well-positioned to advance its efforts.  The Board, Leadership Council, staff, and consultants have devoted considerable time, energy and sheer doggedness in growing this amazing organization, but the challenges never stop. 

We have reviewed our organization’s past performance and are ready for what the future brings. IC is absolutely committed in our support of those who work in direct care and the Iowans they serve. We will continue to promote and provide quality educational opportunities; increase community awareness regarding Iowa’s Care Gap; state-wide recognition of the contributions of Iowa’s 70,000+ direct care workforce; and lead on advocacy and research regarding caregiving issues.

Rest assured that our “double vision” will not blur our laser focus on the future. We are ready to take on the challenges of 2018 and beyond, and we look forward to working with you and many Iowans in this important and rewarding work.  If you would like to help IC achieve these goals, please consider volunteering, donating, visiting and sharing our websitewww.iowacaregivers.org, or getting involved in some other way.  Do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.

Anne Kinzel, Board Chair
Iowa CareGivers


Maribel SlindeDown to Earth Strategic Planning

Iowa CareGivers Board, Advisors, and Council members, staff, and consultants rolled up their sleeves and “dug in” to plan a “Down to Earth” and impactful future for Iowa CareGivers and the Iowans it serves!

View the photo gallery here!

2018 Board of Directors

Elisabeth Buck, Chief Community Impact Officer
United Way of Central Iowa
Kim Downs, Secretary
Retired, Telligen
Jerry Jenkins, Treasurer 
Agency Owner, Farmers Insurance Group
Anne Kinzel, Chair
Iowa State University
Jim Knoepfler
Every Step
Rick Kozin, Retired 
Polk County Health Department
Deanna Lehl, Vice-Chair 
Family Nurse Practitioner
Mike McLaughlin
Dean of Health Occupations
Kirkwood Community College
Josephine “Jodi” O’Donnell
Ames, Iowa
Jim Miles-Polka, P.E., Client Director
Foth Infrastructure & Environment, LLC
Becky Pryor, Administrator
Jasper County Health Department

2018 Board Advisors

Nancy Anderson, Advisor
Retired, Aging Resources of Central Iowa
Tom Carpenter, Advisor
Retired, Grefe and Sidney
Dr. Robert Denson, Advisor
President, Des Moines Area Community College
Betty Grandquist, Advisor
Retired, Iowa Department of Elder Affairs and Iowa Family Caregiver Program
Ivan Lyddon, Advisor
Retired, Iowa Health Foundation

Charlotte Nelson, Advisor
Retired, Iowa Commission on the Status of Women

Maribel Slinde, Past President
Retired, WesleyLife Home and Community Services
Shirley Sorenson, Advisor
Retired, Des Moines Area Community College